DAMN SHAME / Did You Know?... / Increase The Peace / Politics and all that jazz / Serious Shit

Libya… look at the signs (literally)


I want to point out something rather obvious that people might be overlooking.  From the onset, something has been rotten about this ordeal.  But has anyone noticed the fact that in a place where Arabic is the primary language, why are foreign reporters/photographers (that includes american media since we’re being told these protests are [exclusively] occurring in Libya) capturing protesters who’s signs display English?

I remind folks, I lived in a place where Arabic is the primary language and I do have a newspaper that depicts the protests of a young girl who was stoned to death (the first time in years in that city) and guess what?  Their signs displayed their primary language, not English.  It just seems rather convenient that people who are upset and protesting had the presence of mind to make their nearly perfectly plotted signs with English only (or mostly).   Here’s a few examples:

Muammar Gaddafi has been in power in Libya for 42 years– why is the u.s. so concerned about spreading democracy now?  They let a bully go crazy his own people for nearly half a century but now they want to step in?  Hmm… just look at the signs and remember how I’ve mentioned media manipulates us.

July 2009, Gaddafi and Obama meet at the G8 in Italy where they later sat at the same dinner table.  This was also the first time in 39 years that Libya sat and talked with a u.s. President.  September 2009, Gaddafi said; “he’d endorse Obama as President forever”.  And way back in 2004; “The delegates said the meeting was “warm” and that they had discussed renewing ties between Libya and the u.s.” Further, “… delegation leader Curt Weldon said the talks had been “very positive”.

I remind everyone of the images from the Paris protests recently…

Not one sign is in English… as to be expected since English is not the primary language.

A final note; check out what Wesley Clark had to say in 2007 because I think you might find it interesting…

10 thoughts on “Libya… look at the signs (literally)

  1. Well, I don’t doubt the real motive behind this action. You would think that they would’ve used Iraq as a model of what NOT to do, but that oil has The Allies licking their chops!
    That being stated, I have learned where some crowds will pander to the U.S. media, hence the English signs. Remember, there have also been English signs with anti-U.S. sentiments.

    Listening: Acetate Prophets by Jurassic 5. It got me dancing on the inside.

    • Hi there, man!

      Yeah, you’d (we) THINK Iraq would be a model, but Iraq was a lie from the start. “… but that oil has The Allies licking their chops!”– yeah, they’ve been salivating over the Caspian Seas since BEFORE 9/11.

      While crowds may pander to the cameras, some of these people could care less about cameras– they are “down for the cause”. ” Remember, there have also been English signs with anti-U.S. sentiments.”– good point but I will remind that there are propagandist intentionally placed in crowds (sometimes they are on payroll) to give the appearance of any ‘haters’ of the West. Hate and racism is a tool they have been using for a while and it is EXTREMELY effective…

      Listening: Had to check out the reference… I can dig this one! This is “revolution” music! 🙂 And wait a minute– you were able to keep up with the tempo while dancing (inside)? hahaha. Man– I’m sweating while sitting on my ass and listening to this one! hahaha You know you and I are fast approaching AARP benefits?! lol I’ve gotta’ come back with this one: “Proceed” by The Roots!! 😉

      • While listening to the Jurassic 5 cut earlier in the day, I was just standing around looking cool.
        I just heard Proceed. Yes, that is the kind of hip-hop I like!

      • Sidebar:

        hahaha at the standing around lookin’ cool. it’s “cooler” than breakin’ sweat. (lol) so glad you could dig, “The Roots”. Its one of ‘few cuts above” in my humble opinion (and ear holes)!! [ALTHOUGH– I’m still not cool with the N-word during this track]. But it does rock tha heck out!! 🙂

  2. Good info and now we are on Libya. These must be some of the main counties that are willing to fight for there rights. Thanks you for comfirming that I need a 5 year plan for my life and what kind of space that I want to choose for my sanity and safety. Hey lady I see you pushing these stories forward keep up the good work.

    • Thanks, lady!

      I’ve had a little help this week so far in finding the stories. And I’m sure you’ll find the right spot during your 5 year plan. Not everyone is flocking to the u.s. that’s for sure so I know there are places around the world that offer safety, sanity and happiness! 😉

      I hope people won’t fall for the same bait as we did during our illegal invasion of Iraq. Libya has all the markings of another false war. That woman that claims to have been raped by Libyan forces story has not been verified but american media is running with it. The same thing has been occurring in the Congo (among other nations) but has the u.s. intervened at all? Libya has oil, period. Had we not Bogarted our way into Iraq I doubt Libya would be on anyone’s radar.

      • So true there are plenty of people that are outside of this country and as well as inside that do not receive help and assistance from the government. Well like I told you before I don’t really watch the news but will start to expose myself to it a little bit more to keep my own self informed.

  3. because they are calling to others for help-dont be mistaken look at all the arabic and libyan signs posts on youtube/fb…
    They know english is one of the most spoken languages in the world..my friends families have gotten to tunisia and we have already lost many. Yes, media manipulates us but how many Libyans do you actually know? it sounds like none. My family and boyfriend’s family is from the middle east. We know many Libyan people. This war is not a lie. By the way one of your pics of the elderly woman was from the US protest-that is where they speak english.. Have you seen bhengazi protests?? Have you heard Bhenghazi radio station? arabic.

  4. They know english is one of the most spoken languages in the world and are calling for help..my friends families have gotten to tunisia and we have already lost many. Yes, media manipulates us but how many Libyans do you actually know? it sounds like none. My family and boyfriend’s family is from the middle east. We know many Libyan people. This war is not a lie. By the way one of your pics of the elderly woman was from the US protest-that is where they speak english.. Have you seen bhengazi protests?? Have you heard Bhenghazi radio station? arabic.

    • YAWN!!! Okay… clearly this is your first time stopping by. I’ve lived in the Persian Gulf for 8 years and I know one Libyan. This war is a lie as our only goal is to invade not aide. Believe me, I know English is spoken around the world but I think it’s important to note that the imagery we are seeing is not what it seems. As far as the elderly lady being right here in the u.s…. well, that’s not what the source of the image indicated. Truly misleading which actually proves my point. Again, I ask (as I did in the article)… why after 42 years in power does the u.s. care so much NOW? Makes no sense other than some financial gain that’s being eyed.

      I don’t mind being challenged but it is your tone that offends me. So, smart ass… instead of you coming to my yard talking out the side of your neck, how about telling the world why Libyans need the u.s. and what this is about since you know many Libyans? I’m not nearly as bright as you since I only know one Libyan.

      Oh and by the way… Middle East is a Western coined term (thanks to media)… it should be referred to as the Persian Gulf but I’m sure you knew that. Qalab wighek— I’m a little rusty but how’s my Arabic?

      EDITORS NOTE: Did you even listen to the clip with Wesley Clark? The u.s. had Libya in it’s sights long before now.

Leave a Reply

