Just A Little Something / Some History (to remind us all)

Thomas Hagan, Malcolm X Assassin, Released


NEW YORK – The only man to admit shooting Malcolm X was freed on parole Tuesday, 45 years after he assassinated the civil rights leader. Thomas Hagan, the last man still serving time in the 1965 killing, was freed from a Manhattan prison where he spent two days a week under a work-release program, state Department of Correctional Services spokeswoman Linda Foglia said.  Click here for the full story.

How do you guys feel about his release?  Should he have been sentenced to life?  I hesitate to say this but I think he should have been sentenced to life.  Malcolm was the real deal and it’s a real shame that we lost such an amazing person.  I haven’t quite been able to forgive these killers.

4 thoughts on “Thomas Hagan, Malcolm X Assassin, Released

  1. Sad to say had Malcolm been a white man his life would be worth more. Since this was a black on black crime, as far as justice is concerned ‘good riddance’. To know this man really has been halfway free for 22yrs doing work in a shelter is a slap in the face to Malcolm X memory.

    • It’s sad but true! This is such a slap in the face. I’m also amazed that the others involved never had the guts to come forward. I personally don’t think we’ve had a true leader since his death. Malcolm was the man!

  2. I don’t think he should have been released. He deserves to die in prison, I know that’s harsh, but…

    And yes, this is indeed a slap in the face to Malcolm’s legacy. I don’t know if ya’ll have heard the story of his troubled grandson who (maybe accidentally) burned down the house and killed Betty Shabazz. I know this happened many years ago, but when I think of how she died, and who was responsible, it’s just so sad.

    • Hi Kingston! “He deserves to die in prison, I know that’s harsh,”… no, that’s not harsh– that’s real. That’s why I posed the question. Decent people feel a certain guilt when making a strong statement but it doesn’t make it wrong. I think he deserves to be there until he checks out too. Seriously, when I think about what Malcolm’s impact on this country could have grown into (after separating from ‘the nation’), his death is truly an overlooked loss.

      I remember what happened to Betty… so sad. You have to wonder what was going through his mind.

Leave a Reply

