Health and Wellness

WOW! I’ll bet you didn’t know just how much sugar you’re taking in…


Sugar Content of Common Food Products

1. Krispy Kreme original glazed doughnut ………………………………………10 g

2. Luna Bar berry almond ……………………………………………………………11 g

3. Froot Loops breakfast cereal 3/4 cup ………………………………………..12 g

4. Ben & Jerry’s vanilla ice cream ………………………………………………….16 g

5. Starbucks caffè latte grande 16 oz ………………………………………………17 g

6. Godiva 2 truffles ……………………………………………………………………..17 g

7. Subway 6″ sweet onion teriyaki chicken sandwich ………………………..17 g

8. Ms. Field’s chocolate chip cookie ………………………………………………..19 g

9. Tropicana 100% orange juice 8 oz ………………………………………………..25 g

10. Yoplait original yogurt ……………………………………………………………..27 g

11. Craisins dried cranberries 1/3 cup ……………………………………………….29 g

12. Vitamin Water 20 oz bottle ………………………………………………………..33 g

13. Oscar Mayer Lunchables crackers, turkey & American cheese ………….36 g

14. Coca-Cola Classic 12 oz can ………………………………………………………….39 g

15. Sprinkles Cupcake red velvet ……………………………………………………….45 g

16. California Pizza Kitchen Thai chicken salad …………………………………….45 g

17. Jamba Juice blackberry bliss 16 oz ………………………………………………..49 g

18. Odwalla SuperFood 450 ml bottle …………………………………………………..50 g

19. Starbucks caffe vanilla frappuccino grande 16 oz ………………………………58 g

Take home messages:

* Foods we recognize as dessert (e.g. doughnuts, ice cream, cookies) often have far less sugar than things we consider “healthy” (e.g. juice, yogurt, dried fruit).

* Froot Loops aren’t necessarily better than doughnuts.

* Energy bars are glorified candy.

* Dessert is sometimes hidden in things like sandwiches.

* Some foods marketed to children aren’t much better than soda.

* A salad can have as much sugar as one of the biggest cupcakes I’ve ever seen.

* “Natural” foods can have lots of sugar.

* The worst offenders are drinkable.

* Starbucks is why you’re fat.

SOURCE: Summertomato.com

I don’t know how you guys feel about this, but this list is surprising.  For all you Starbuck lovers, now that you know how bad those cups of coffee are for you, are you still going to spend your money on this “toxic” concoction?  Something to think about, 1 teaspoon of sugar equals 4 grams.  And who would have thought that a donut has less grams of sugar than that fake ass Vitamin Water manufacturers have duped consumers into buying?

POST COURTESY OF SUNNYC

4 thoughts on “WOW! I’ll bet you didn’t know just how much sugar you’re taking in…

  1. Withing the past year I found out far more about foods, in general, which has led me to eliminate dairy from my diet.

    The sugar that are the worst, most damaging culprit is the white refined sugar and the High fuctose corn syrup. Those sugars found in fruits, for example are much better for you. And yes, I’ve drastically reduced my sugar intake as well by not eating cereal, which I thought was healthier, and not drinking Kool-Aid! 😉

    Yes, I’ll continue to visit my local Starbucks, OCCASSIONALLY…but given the fact I’ve given up coffee too…it won’t be soon! LOL

    Thanks for sharing the info…hopefully more people will begin to take heed.

    • I’m glad you liked her article. It’s funny, I just got off the phone with SunnyC and she explained that she forgot how to reply in the admin area. She said every time she tried, it took her to the edit area. lol.

      She definitely wanted me to express a thanks to the ‘only person’ who commented on this article. She’s way more health conscious than I am (believe it or not). She’s 50 and looks like she might be 30 at the most and dropped sugar from her diet when she turned 20!

      • No problem. After re-reading my comment, I realized it contains numerous typos and errors. OH! THE HORROR!!!! I hate going back to re-read something I wrote only to find it chocked full of stupid mistakes! LOL Yes….I’m anal about it. 😉

      • hahaha! Oh the horror is right! lol. I’m the same way as a matter of fact. Although I’ll give myself credit for being less critical or anal these days, it still bugs me. 🙂 I need an editor for my site because I was glancing at the entries b/4 I left on vacation and all I can say is DAMN! hahaha

Leave a Reply

