Mid-Week Jam (MWJ) / Music

Mid-Week Jam (MWJ): India Arie – I am not my hair


Although this (link) is NOT from the email I received while living abroad– there’s no way I’d allow THIS month to pass without highlighting this tune!

As a true “minority” living in the Persian Gulf, I stood out (a bit) at times.  Accepted AND embraced– yet somehow, I was still reminded of my “different look”… because of my hair!!   Hey… can a muthafuka just work with what her parents created [is my thoughts]??!!!!  That question is rhetorical of course.  [Rant ended]   So… here’s a favorite song of mine for this Mid-Week Jam (MWJ)…  hope you’ll all ENJOY!

6 thoughts on “Mid-Week Jam (MWJ): India Arie – I am not my hair

  1. Descartes would have been proud!*

    Listening: Overjoyed by Esperanza Spalding (yes, THAT Overjoyed)

    *I know that it was a pretentious comment, but it was basically what she was saying, lol!

    • Wow! Is that who sings that song?! I heard this song in a little spot in Amsterdam a few years ago and didn’t know who it was! Love it. Her fro is slamming too!

      • Ain’t it, though? She is the total package! Smart, beautiful, a demon on the bass and she can sing!

        Oh, Jazz, allow me to invite you to my FB page. Every day, I post a new song. Sometimes I comment on it, sometimes I comment on something else. Just look for Wilfredo Miranda.

      • “Ain’t it, though? She is the total package! Smart, beautiful, a demon on the bass and she can sing!”… I TOTALLY CONCUR (now that I know who did their thing to THAT jam)!!! I’m actually not a fan of remakes of “classics” (Stevie Wonder, EW&F, Chaka Khan, etc, but she did do JUSTICE!)

        Thank you SO much for the invite to FB! Not a real fan of it, but I do have a “fake account”. Wanted to tracked down a few lost friends (have succeeded) but I’m not a real fan of FB, myspace or any of that sort of thing. If I do check it out, I’ll make sure you know it’s me! But really… I do appreciate the invitation, man! You know you are cool azz beans with me! DOUBLE 🙂 🙂

  2. It’s cool. At the moment, I’m in the process of getting rid of people right now. I don’t want to be part of a tally for how popular somebody can be. That’s just base hypocrisy! I invited you because of your love of music, and that invite will be open to you.

    Listening: I’ve Done It Again by Grace Jones

    • I appreciate it Wilfredo– I may check you out on FB after all! And it does sort of seem like a ‘popularity contest’. Couldn’t quite put my finger on it…

      Listening; awe shit… now I’ve gotta hear Pull Up to my Bumper by Grace!! 😉

Leave a Reply

