DAMN SHAME / Politics and all that jazz / Serious Shit

Does Speaker Nancy Pelosi Dodge Health Care Question?


According to Committee On Ways & Means Republicans Ranking Member, Dave Camp, “the non-partisan Joint Committee on Taxation (JCT) confirming that the failure to comply with the individual mandate to buy health insurance contained in the Pelosi health care bill (H.R. 3962, as amended) could land people in jail. The JCT letter makes clear that Americans who do not maintain acceptable health insurance coverage and who choose not to pay the bills new individual mandate tax (generally 2.5% of income), are subject to numerous civil and criminal penalties, including criminal fines of up to $250,000 and imprisonment of up to five years.”  SOURCE: Komo 4 News (ABC Seattle) Reporter Shomari Stone

Either purchase insurance or you’ll go to jail!  They can’t be serious about that, can they?  Is it me, or is there something very wrong with this?  And I just love how this administration campaigned on “transparency”, but when asked a direct question, not only did Pelosi not answer the question, she completely ignored the reporter at the end of this press conference.  I am so tired of this poorly run country and it’s politics.  It’s becoming increasingly clear to me that no matter who we “vote” for, no matter the party, they will continue to ignore what is best for the people.  I can’t figure out how they came to the conclusion that this would be necessary.  Adding legislation that would imprison you is simply outrageous and frightening.  When will people accept the fact that absolutely none of them care about the general population.  Their allegiances is clearly towards the corporations that line their pockets and in this case, it’s going to be the insurance companies.  How very compassionate of them to do something like this during the worst economic crisis ever!  Disgraceful!!

10 thoughts on “Does Speaker Nancy Pelosi Dodge Health Care Question?

  1. I’m usually not very conspiracy minded, but there is definitely something very fishy going on in this debate. Is the fix in?

    Listening: Is Shaan e Karam Ka by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (Checking out my Oriental music collection)

    • Hmmm…. not sure that this one is actually part of a conspiracy per se, it just shows how our officials aren’t working for the public interest anymore. Is the fix in? Well, can’t seem to get a handle on that. I keep ‘hearing’ that the vote is in, but unable to find “the plan”. I’m definitely not pleased with the decision to fine U.S. citizens with excessive amounts or place us in jail for up to 5 years should some not be able to afford this. I really thought she was out of line for not answering his question and ignoring him at the end. Speaks volumes.

      Listening: Was curious about the one you’re listening to, so searching for it… 🙂

  2. Well, “conspiracy” might not have been the right word, but I can’t help to think that a lot of these dems are in cahoots. Plus, Big Pharma is hiking the price of medicine considerably. I guess nobody in either House thought of putting a cap on prices, huh?

    Listening: Lagrimas Negras by Trio Matamoro (Cuban trio music)

    • “Plus, Big Pharma is hiking the price of medicine considerably”… OOOOOO, I know!!! And they probably thought of capping prices… they just didn’t. Yes, I’ve become a little cynical of our gov’t in recent years as they’ve been consistently and blatantly horrible. They just don’t give a damn. BTW, what are your thoughts on Obama bowing to Chinese royalty recently? And man, the party division is just a farce, Dems & Reps are both the same. I had a ‘debate’ over the weekend with my politically well versed friends and they broke down how that game is really played. They (both parties) play the public for fools with that whole thing. In the public, they will bicker, but in private, they go on vacations and break bread together. One of my friends suggested that voting for the 3rd party or independent would begin to get a handle on this chaos, but we’ve been conditioned for so long to think of only two parties. I sort of agree too. “Can’t teach an old dog new tricks”, as they say.

      Do you have a link for Is Shaan e Karam Ka by Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan? I’m really curious to hear it now…

  3. I was checking on YouTube, but I couldn’t find that particular song. It’s possible that the spelling is different. But here’s a fairly representative song of the artist:

    Now as far as Obama goes…
    These wingnuts have short memories. Bush greeted his allies with the same respect as Obama is doing now. It’s being a good guest and it’s the most basic of courtesies you can extend to your host.
    They just love to find any reason to go after him. It’s a public masturbation, of sorts.

    Listening: Ponteio by Da Lata

    • Wow! That almost sounds like what I heard while in the Persian Gulf! Kinda’ cool for sure! I like your eclectic ear, man!

      “Bush greeted his allies with the same respect as Obama is doing now”… I guess that was something I didn’t actually see with Bush, but I was abroad during his tenure for the most part. Bush is just the square root of a “goober” (AKA, a DUMB ASS) though. I guess I’ll reserve further commenting on Obama’s courtisies for now… still playing catch up at this point and I do realize that the media spins what it likes. “It’s a public masturbation, of sorts”— I’ve gotta’ use that phrase in the future! hahaha!!! Good one!

      Listening: United We Stand by Arrested Development (I sure hate that those guys broke up too).

  4. Yeah, those guys (A.D.) were really good; was the typical ego trip the reason for their split?
    thanks for the compliment, Jazz!

    Listening: Strange Boy by Joni Mitchell.

    • Yes, I do think there was some underlying ego involved. Hmmm… let me think again… maybe the “ego rumors” was from the group “Soul II Soul” instead. Either way, both groups were off to such a great start (IMHO). It’s a shame they both ended prematurely. And you got me yet again with Joni! Very cool ear you have, Wilfredo!

      Listening: Evil Woman by ELO!!! I just had a serious flashback… here’s the link to it just in case you need a reminder. Enjoy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R20f-TPKjzc Oddly, I was lucky enough to find the LP version of this hit! Just some good ole’ days is all. Oooh how I long for the pre-70’s and 70’s again with music! 🙂

  5. haven’t been on in a minute…at least to comment but when i saw this clip, i said to myself “somebody had to have somethin’ to say about this shit!” this was a blatant (and successful) attempt to dodge the question. usually when they start to stutter and flash that quick facade-of-a-smile, you can almost bet the house that they’re lying – point blank. so i would take her response to mean that within the legislation it states somewhere beneath the bullshit that anyone NOT conforming to the GOVERNMENT MANDATE ON HEALTHSCARE will be imprisoned. fuck a ‘conspiracy’ folks, what’s going on is real…more real than you’ll ever know – than all of us know. thanks *YoY* for the updates…keep doin’ what you do!!!

    • Thanks man! I’m going to keep “doing the damn thing” cuz I could really give a shit if anybody thinks I’m crazy. People will come to know that what some of us are taking the time to do, is for their best interest (because we already know the deal)! I AM finding that more people of colour are slowly beginning to wake up to this information. Putting down the distractions and learning as much as they can.

      It did piss me off to see her just walk away at the end and completely ignore him a last time. Transparency my ASS!!!! I like you’re “healthscare” term… creative!

Leave a Reply

