Serious Shit / Uncategorized

Do you know what your children are doing?


kissing_kids

I’ve been saying our kids haven’t really been kids since around ’93.  They are exposed to way too much.  I remember seeing a documentary on PBS’s Frontline years ago that gave me a real eye opener to this fact.  Instead of the problems subsiding, they seem to only be getting worse… a lot worse.  If I were to try to find a high point to the economic downturn, it would be that at least one parent might be home now.  What our children are doing is scary as hell to me.  I also thought that it was a HUGE mistake to create the middle school and high school pairings.  When I was coming up, Junior High was 7th-9th grades and then you went on to High School.  It is a terrible mistake to place 12 year old children with teenagers. 

Follow the link here for the full story: http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/Parenting/story?id=7693121&page=1

2 thoughts on “Do you know what your children are doing?

  1. “It is a terrible mistake to place 12 year old children with teenagers.”

    Co-sign on the whole post really. There was no middle/highschool when I was in school and thank god. I already had a friend that got pregnant in middle school, and had a couple of other friends that were sexually active. Mind you they were with older guys who went to the highschools. So how would it have been if those same boys were in the same school?

    • Indeed– it’s no wonder kids are growing up so fast. and the same here– middle school has did not exist and has only made the matter worse. I’m just so shocked that young girls consider oral sex the same as a kiss or a handshake. I could never understand why parents won’t pursue these boys for statutory rape when there daughters end up pregnant! I bet that would begin to change things!

Leave a Reply

